Diplomatic Relations

Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office written question – answered at on 26 February 2024.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Deputy Chairman of Committees

To ask His Majesty's Government which countries do not have permanent diplomatic representation in the UK.

Photo of Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Minister of State (Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office)

The Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office publishes details of foreign embassies, high commissions and consulates in the UK on gov.uk, at: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/foreign-embassies-in-the-uk.

This page includes the London Diplomatic List (LDL), which contains details of all embassies and high commissions, as well as the names of heads of mission and other diplomatic agents appointed in accordance with the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations. The LDL lists 169 diplomatic missions with their permanent seat in the UK. 17 countries have non-resident diplomatic representation to the UK. Nine countries are represented by an Honorary Consul.

Some countries do not have a UK diplomatic presence or Honorary Consul representation. The FCDO does not publish a complete list of countries without UK diplomatic representation as this information is publicly available by comparing the LDL against the official map of countries as recognised by the UN: https://www.un.org/geospatial/content/world-today.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.