School Rebuilding Programme: South West

Department for Education written question – answered on 27th July 2022.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Anthony Mangnall Anthony Mangnall Conservative, Totnes

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, for what reason only four schools of the 161 in the Schools Rebuilding Programme were located in the South West.

Photo of Will Quince Will Quince Minister of State (Education)

Schools selected have been prioritised based on the condition of their buildings. Location was not a factor in the prioritisation process.

The department will select up to 300 schools in 2022 for the programme from the 1,105 nominations received from local authorities, academy trusts, and dioceses. We announced 61 of the 300 schools in July to maintain the pace of delivery and begin to address some of the schools in the poorest conditions. The department is still assessing all of the other nominations received, including those which showed evidence of exceptional need.

The 100 schools selected in February and July 2021 were also prioritised based on condition. An explanation of the methodology for each round is available at:

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.