Official Residences

Cabinet Office written question – answered on 1st July 2021.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Emily Thornberry Emily Thornberry Shadow Secretary of State for International Trade

To ask the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster and Minister for the Cabinet Office, which of his Ministers is currently occupying (a) 1 Carlton Gardens, (b) the three flats in Admiralty House, (c) the Dorneywood estate and (d) the Chevening estate; and in each case, when the current occupants took up residence.

Photo of Chloe Smith Chloe Smith Assistant Whip, Minister of State (Cabinet Office)

The official residences which are owned by the Government and currently available to Ministers are:

● Flats above 10 and 11 Downing Street, which are used by the Chancellor of the Exchequer and the Prime Minister respectively;

● 1 Carlton Gardens, leased from the Crown Estate, is available as the official residence for the Foreign Secretary; and

Hillsborough Castle and Stormont are available for Ministers in the Northern Ireland Office while on duty in Northern Ireland.

The Chequers, Dorneywood and Chevening estates are available to Ministers for both official and private use. None of these properties are owned by the Government, and are run by trustees.

Admiralty House is part of the Government estate, which includes rooms that could be used as residential accommodation. It is not in Ministerial use.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes2 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.