Only a few days to go: We’re raising £25,000 to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder

British Overseas Territories: Civil Partnerships

Foreign and Commonwealth Office written question – answered on 13th February 2020.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Matthew Offord Matthew Offord Conservative, Hendon

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, which Overseas Territories have introduced legislation to allow civil partnerships.

Photo of Christopher Pincher Christopher Pincher Minister of State, Minister of State (Housing, Communities and Local Government)

Nine Overseas Territories have legal recognition and protection for same-sex relationships. Same-sex marriage is legal in the Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Bermuda, Pitcairn Islands and St Helena, Ascension Island, and Tristan da Cunha. The Premier of the Cayman Islands has publicly undertaken to bring in domestic partnerships by early this year. The laws in the uninhabited territories of the British Indian Ocean Territory, British Antarctic Territory and South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands also allow for same-sex marriage.

In the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, civil partnerships have been allowed for United Kingdom military and civilian personnel.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.