Listed Events

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport written question – answered on 23rd January 2020.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Kevin Brennan Kevin Brennan Shadow Minister (Digital, Culture, Media and Sport) (Arts and Heritage)

To ask the Minister of State, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, if she will add the Six Nations rugby union championship to the category A list of events not permitted to be broadcast solely on paid television services.

Photo of Nigel Adams Nigel Adams Minister of State

Events on Group B of the list, including the Six Nations, can have live coverage on subscription television provided that secondary coverage is offered to the eligible free-to-air broadcasters.

The Government is clear that the existing list works well with the inclusion of the Paralympic Games and women’s equivalents of men’s events currently on the list, on which the Government is consulting, and strikes the right balance between retaining free-to-air sports events for the public, and allowing rights holders to negotiate agreements in the best interests of their sport. The Government therefore has no intention of undertaking a review of the list, or of moving the Six Nations from the category B list to the category A list.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.