Ministry of Justice: Public Appointments

Ministry of Justice written question – answered on 24th October 2019.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Jon Trickett Jon Trickett Shadow Minister (Cabinet Office), Shadow Lord President of the Council

To ask the Secretary of State for Justice, which public appointments he is responsible for.

Photo of Chris Philp Chris Philp The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Justice

As set out in Article 2(2) Bodies and Offices Regulated by the Commissioner for Public Appointments of the Order in Council 2019, the Secretary of State for Justice is responsible for the following appointments:

Advisory Committees on Justices of the Peace

Advisory Council on Conscientious Objectors (This is an MoD Public Body - It was established in 1970 but its history can be traced back to the tribunals set up by the National Service (Armed Forces) Act 1939. The 1970 arrangements included an agreement that, to make sure of the independence of the committee, these appointments should be made by the Lord Chancellor).

Chair of the National Council of Prisoner Escort and Custody Services Lay Observers

Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service (Cafcass)

Civil Justice Council (CJC)

Civil Procedure Rule Committee

Commissioner for Victims and Witnesses

Court Examiners

Court of Protection Visitors

Criminal Cases Review Commission (CCRC)

Criminal Procedure Rule Committee

Family Procedure Rule Committee

Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Prisons for England and Wales

Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Probation

Independent Advisory Panel on Deaths in Custody

Independent Monitoring Board of any prison or young offender institution (IMBs)

Insolvency Rules Committee (This is a BEIS Public Body. However, legislation explains that the Lord Chancellor is responsible for making the public appointments).

Judicial Appointments and Conduct Ombudsman (JACO)

Judicial Appointments Commission (JAC)

Judicial Pension Board, independent Chair and independent members only

Law Commission, except for the Chair

Legal Services Board (LSB)

Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements Lay Advisers (MAPPA)

National Chair of the Independent Monitoring Boards (IMB)

National Mental Capacity Forum, Chair Only

Non-Judicial Members of Disciplinary Panels of the Judicial Conduct Investigations Office (JCIO)

Parole Board for England and Wales, except for judicial members

Persons appointed by the Lord Chancellor under section 2 of the Legal Aid, Sentencing and Punishment of Offenders Act 2012 (Legal Aid Agency: Funding and Costs Appeals Review Panel Members and Very High Cost Cases Appeals Panel Members)

Prisoner Escort and Custody Services Lay Observers (PECS)

Prisons and Probation Ombudsman (PPO)

Prison Service Pay Review Body (PSPRB)

Sentencing Council for England and Wales

Tribunal Procedure Committee (TPC)

Youth Justice Board for England and Wales (YJB)

Does this answer the above question?

Yes2 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.