South Sudan: Peace Negotiations

Foreign and Commonwealth Office written question – answered on 12th February 2019.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of David Drew David Drew Shadow Minister (Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, which parties were signatories to the current peace deal in South Sudan; and which parties refused to sign it.

Photo of Harriett Baldwin Harriett Baldwin Minister of State (Department for International Development) (Joint with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office), Minister of State (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) (Joint with the Department for International Development)

The Revitalised Agreement of the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS) was signed on 12 September 2018. The Parties listed in R-ARCSS are: the Transitional Government of National Unity of the Republic of South Sudan; the Sudan People's Liberation Movement/Army-In Opposition; the South Sudan Opposition Alliance; former detainees; and a range of other smaller political parties. A diverse range of stakeholders from civil society and the region, including representatives from the church, business, and women's groups, also signed. The agreement can be found on the Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission website. The most significant party to the conflict which did not sign R-ARCSS is the National Salvation Front (known as NAS) led by General Thomas Cirillo.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.