Food: Waste Disposal

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs written question – answered on 4th February 2019.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Kerry McCarthy Kerry McCarthy Labour, Bristol East

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, if he will publish the information that his Department holds on local authorities that undertake separate food waste collections.

Photo of Kerry McCarthy Kerry McCarthy Labour, Bristol East

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, which local authorities in England undertake separate food waste collections.

Photo of Kerry McCarthy Kerry McCarthy Labour, Bristol East

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, what steps his Department is taking to record which local authorities in England have yet to undertake separate food waste collections.

Photo of Therese Coffey Therese Coffey The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

A list of the local authorities in England that collect separate food waste, and tonnages collected in 2017/18 is provided below.

Further data on local authority food waste collection can be found at

The Government will be consulting shortly on measures to introduce separate food waste collection across all local authorities in England by 2023. This is in accordance with ambitions outlined in our recently published Resources and Waste Strategy.

Raw data on separate food waste collection that is publically available 2017/18

Authority Tonnage of separately collected food waste reported

Ashford Borough Council 4,367

Aylesbury Vale District Council 6,278

Barnet LB 4,632

Bath and North East Somerset Council 5,551

Bexley LB 7,527

Bournemouth Borough Council 3,201

Braintree District Council 4,307

Brent LB 6,594

Brentwood Borough Council 1,001

Bristol City Council 11,689

Broadland District Council 1,944

Bromley LB 8,906

Broxbourne Borough Council 3,048

Calderdale MBC 4,871

Cambridge City and South Cambs Councils 364

Camden LB 2,610

Canterbury City Council 2,884

Castle Point Borough Council 2,965

Central Bedfordshire 4,868

Chelmsford Borough Council 5,181

Cheltenham Borough Council 3,241

Cheshire West and Chester 9,747

City of London 141

Colchester Borough Council 5,196

Corby Borough Council 1,143

Croydon LB 9,042

Dacorum Borough Council 4,872

Daventry District Council 1,410

Derbyshire Dales District Council 1,020

Dorset Waste Partnership 17,891

Dover District Council 3,619

Ealing LB 7,214

East Devon District Council 6,638

East Northamptonshire Council 2,654

Eastleigh Borough Council 1,900

Elmbridge Borough Council 4,725

Epsom and Ewell Borough Council 2,321

Folkestone and Hythe District Council 3,299

Forest of Dean District Council 2,799

Gloucester City Council 3,304

Gravesham Borough Council 2,978

Guildford Borough Council 4,183

Hackney LB 4,275

Halton Borough Council 188

Haringey LB 836

Harlow District Council 3,055

Harrow LB 8,674

Hounslow LB 5,099

Isle of Wight Council 5,401

Kings Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council 3,112

Leeds City Council MBC 1,189

Lewes District Council 926

Maidstone Borough Council 4,590

Maldon District Council 2,277

Merton LB 3,282

Mid Devon District Council 2,076

Mole Valley District Council 2,685

Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council 2,693

North Hertfordshire District Council 246

North Lincolnshire Council 31

North Somerset Council 6,528

Northampton Borough Council 2,706

Norwich City Council 2,198

Oxford City Council 6,148

Peterborough City Council 4,060

Plymouth City Council 185

Reigate and Banstead Borough Council 4,564

Richmond upon Thames LB 2,879

Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea 15

Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames 4,576

Runnymede Borough Council 2,413

Sandwell MBC 4,226

Sefton MBC 1,288

Somerset Waste Partnership 17,827

South Bucks District Council 2,130

South Gloucestershire Council 6,788

South Hams District Council 339

South Northamptonshire District Council 2,991

South Oxfordshire District Council 5,552

Southend-on-Sea Borough Council 4,397

Spelthorne Borough Council 2,591

St Albans City and District Council 4,850

St Helens MBC 3,228

Stoke-on-Trent City Council 27

Stroud District Council 5,755

Surrey Heath Borough Council 3,410

Sutton LB 7,403

Swale Borough Council 3,094

Tandridge District Council 2,726

Teignbridge District Council 5,382

Tendring District Council 2,008

Tewkesbury Borough Council 2,996

Thanet District Council 3,041

Three Rivers District Council 3,139

Torbay Council 2,826

Uttlesford District Council 2,908

Vale of White Horse District Council 4,898

Waltham Forest LB 154

Waverley Borough Council 3,959

West Devon Borough Council 1,676

West Oxfordshire District Council 3,926

Westminster City Council 2,843

Windsor and Maidenhead Borough Council 2,060

Woking Borough Council 3,933

Wolverhampton MBC 2,134

Wycombe District Council 7,778

Grand Total 413,315

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.