General Agreement on Trade in Services

Department for International Trade written question – answered on 21st January 2019.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Green of Deddington Lord Green of Deddington Crossbench

To ask Her Majesty's Government with which countries the UK has General Agreements on Trade in Services mode 4 commitments as part of trade deals.

Photo of Baroness Fairhead Baroness Fairhead The Minister of State, Department for International Trade

Currently, the UK’s Mode 4 commitments in the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) are applied to all other 163 World Trade Organisation (WTO) Members - full details of membership can be found on the WTO website under ‘Members and Observers’.

In addition, through the UK’s membership of the EU, the UK participates in around 40 free trade agreements. These arrangements cover more than 70 countries and a number of these agreements include services which cover Mode 4. The Government is seeking continuity for our existing EU free trade agreements as we leave the European Union.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.