Diplomatic Service: EU Countries

Foreign and Commonwealth Office written question – answered on 3rd December 2018.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Helen Goodman Helen Goodman Shadow Minister (Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs)

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, pursuant to the Answer of 26 November 2018 Question 193410 on Diplomatic Service: EU Countries, in which countries UK citizens do not have any direct national representation.

Photo of Harriett Baldwin Harriett Baldwin Minister of State (Department for International Development) (Jointly with the Foreign and Commonwealth Office), Minister of State (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) (Joint with the Department for International Development)

Further to my previous reply, there are 39 countries where we have no direct representation, but which are covered by other Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) Embassies in the region. These are: Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, East Timor, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Grenada, Guinea Bissau, Honduras, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Monaco, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niger, Palau, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & The Grenadines, Suriname, eSwatini, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

On 31 October, the Foreign Secretary announced the biggest strengthening of our diplomatic network for around 20 years. We will open 11 new Posts by the end of 2020: Antigua & Barbuda, The Bahamas, Djibouti, Grenada, Lesotho, Niger, Samoa, St Vincent & The Grenadines, eSwatini, Tonga and Vanuatu.

People who need assistance can call any of our embassies, high commissions or consulates, or the FCO switchboard, 24/7 for advice or help.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.