Further Education: Closures

Department for Education written question – answered on 30th May 2018.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Helen Goodman Helen Goodman Shadow Minister (Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs)

To ask the Secretary of State for Education, how many further education colleges have closed in each constituency since 2010.

Photo of Anne Milton Anne Milton Minister of State (Education)

There have been 10 sixth form colleges and 56 further education colleges, which have closed since 1 January 2010.

Although usually one college closes in order to merge with another college, the majority of newly merged colleges have retained the original college’s estate. This means that although an institution may no longer exist independently, its closure does not equate to a loss of provision for learners in the area.

Each college closure has been in a different constituency. The full list can be found in Annex A.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.