General Practitioners: Sevenoaks

Department of Health written question – answered on 12th December 2017.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Michael Fallon Michael Fallon Conservative, Sevenoaks

To ask the Secretary of State for Health, how the proposed reorganisation of the NHS will affect GP surgeries in Sevenoaks constituency.

Photo of Steve Brine Steve Brine The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Health

It is the responsibility of local commissioners, overseen by NHS England, to ensure that general practitioner (GP) services meet the needs of local people.

NHS England advises that, in line with its strategic vision, Mapping the Future, NHS West Kent Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) – which covers Sevenoaks – approved in July 2017 a Local Care Plan that describes the model of care, the infrastructure required to deliver this and what will change for people who live in west Kent. In the local care model, the system is organised at four different levels – general practice, cluster, local care hubs and west Kent-wide services. NHS England advises that there are seven ‘clusters’ of general practice in west Kent. Eight general practices form the Sevenoaks cluster; the third largest cluster in west Kent covering a registered population of 79,745.

During 2017, the CCG has, working with health and care partners, developed and started the implementation of the service specification for a core cluster level team, focusing on prevention and planned care covering four main areas: frailty, end-of-life, dementia and mental health. In line with NHS England’s GP Five Year Forward View, the CCG is also working with clusters and practices to implement local programmes to help struggling practices, reduce workload, expand the workforce and also invest in technology and estates where needed.

The cluster model is being implemented in three phases across the seven clusters. Phase 1 went live in October 2017, Phase 2 went live in November 2017 and Phase 3 is planned for April 2018. The practices in the Sevenoaks cluster were in Phase 2. More detailed information on the Local Care Plan can be found at:

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No2 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.