Only a few days to go: We’re raising £25,000 to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder


Foreign and Commonwealth Office written question – answered on 7th September 2017.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of David Drew David Drew Shadow Minister (Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, which countries currently have sanctions imposed upon them as part of UN or EU obligations; and if he will publish what form those sanctions take.

Photo of Alan Duncan Alan Duncan Minister of State

As part of our membership of the UN and EU, the UK imposes sanctions regimes relating to activity in Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burma, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea), Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Eritrea, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Moldova, Republic of Guinea, Republic of Guinea-Bissau, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Ukraine, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

The form of these sanctions regimes varies greatly. Further detail can be found via Her Majesty's Treasury and the Department for International Trade pages on the GOV.UK platform, in addition to publicly available information on the UN and EU websites.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No1 person thinks not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.