Home Office written question – answered at on 13 September 2016.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Alistair Carmichael Alistair Carmichael Liberal Democrat Spokesperson (Home Affairs)

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department, with which countries the UK has a visa waiver agreement.

Photo of Robert Goodwill Robert Goodwill The Minister for Immigration

All non-EEA nationals coming to the UK for periods of longer than six months unless exempt from immigration control are expected to obtain a UK visa in advance of travel.

Appendix 2 of Appendix V of the Immigration Rules lists those countries whose nationals or citizens are subject to immigration control and who additionally require a visa obtained in advance of travel as a visitor or for any purpose for less than six months. Appendix 2 also provides details of specified travel documents whose holders do not need a visa before they travel to the UK as a visitor:

Nationals of countries not included on the visa national list who are visiting the UK for less than six months may travel without a visa obtained in advance but will still need to seek permission to enter on arrival. An exception to this for nationals of Oman, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates and Kuwait intending a stay of less than six months allows them to apply for an Electronic Visa Waiver (EVW) in advance of travel.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes2 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.