Only a few days to go: We’re raising £25,000 to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder

COE Parliamentary Assembly

Foreign and Commonwealth Office written question – answered on 8th September 2015.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Kilclooney Lord Kilclooney Crossbench

To ask Her Majesty’s Government who are the Members of the United Kingdom delegation to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe; and what is the political affiliation of each Member.

Photo of Baroness Anelay of St Johns Baroness Anelay of St Johns Minister of State

A list of full and alternate UK members of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), as well as their party affiliations and European political groupings, is attached here. The current delegation consists of those members who were appointed by the Prime Minister, my right hon. Friend the Member for Witney (Mr Cameron), on 15 January 2013 and includes Members from both Houses. The party distribution should reflect the composition of the House of Commons. However, the delegation remains unchanged from before May’s general election (apart from, sadly, Charles Kennedy). Therefore, some existing UK PACE members no longer have seats in Parliament. This delegation can continue for up to a maximum of six months from the date of May’s general election. The new delegation will be appointed by the Prime Minister by November 2015. The party distribution will reflect the composition of the House of Commons.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.