House of Lords written question – answered on 9th December 2014.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Kennedy of Southwark Labour

To ask Her Majesty’s Government how many embassies or consulates they have closed in each year since 2010.

Photo of Baroness Anelay of St Johns Baroness Anelay of St Johns Minister of State

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) has not closed any Embassies over this period but has suspended operations in Tehran, Damascus and Tripoli for security reasons. Overall, the total number of FCO posts (Embassies, Consulates-General, Consulates, Multilateral Missions and Trade and Investment Offices) worldwide has risen from 257 to 267 since 2010. However, in order to help fund expansions elsewhere, we have closed a number of Consulates in Europe and elsewhere, as new technology has enabled us to deliver services in different ways.

The FCO has closed the following Consulates-General and Consulates since 2010:

2010: One: Consulate-General Geneva, Switzerland2011: Two: Consulate-General Lille, France; Consulate-General Venice, Italy2012: Three: Consulate-General Basra, Iraq; Consulate Florence, Italy; Consulate Funchal, Portugal

2013: One: Consulate Pattaya, Thailand

The FCO has also downgraded the following Consulates-General and Consulates to Trade and Investment Offices since 2010:

2012: Two: Consulate-General Lyon, France; Consulate Naples, Italy

2014: One: Consulate Bilbao, Spain

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.