Broadband: Urban Areas

Department for Culture Media and Sport written question – answered on 16th December 2014.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Chris Bryant Chris Bryant Shadow Minister (Culture, Media and Sport)

To ask the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport, with reference to paragraph 1.118 in Autumn Statement 2014, what the process was by which the cities who received broadband vouchers was decided; and which cities were (a) considered and (b) rejected for those vouchers.

Photo of Ed Vaizey Ed Vaizey Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy (Jointly with Department for Business, Innovation and Skills), Minister of State for Culture and the Digital Economy (Jointly with Department for Culture Media and Sport)

The 22 Super-Connected Cities were selected during 2012 in two waves (10 in wave 1 and 12 in wave 2). They were assessed on a number of criteria, based on the quality of their bids at the time and with particular focus on project governance and management.

For wave 1, 14 cities were considered and Belfast, Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Leeds and Bradford, London, Manchester and Newcastle were successful.

For wave 2, 18 cities were considered and Aberdeen, Brighton & Hove, Cambridge, Coventry, Derby, Derry/Londonderry, Newport, Oxford, Perth, Portsmouth, Salford and York were successful.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.