Electoral Register

Electoral Commission Committee written question – answered on 9th July 2014.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Chris Ruane Chris Ruane Labour, Vale of Clwyd

To ask the hon. Member for South West Devon, representing the Speaker's Committee on the Electoral Commission, how many and what proportion of people were deleted from the electoral register after the second year of non-response to electoral canvass in the 10 local authorities with the (a) greatest and (b) smallest decreases; and what parliamentary constituencies are covered by such local authorities.

Photo of Gary Streeter Gary Streeter Conservative, South West Devon

The Electoral Commission informs me that the requested data are presented in the following table. These data are for Great Britain and therefore excludes Northern Ireland.

Local authority Number of deletions (from November 2013 register) following second year of non-response Deletions (from November 2013 register) following second year of non-response (percentage of register) Decrease (December 2012 to February/March 2014)
Leeds 28,190 5.0 -24,177
Birmingham 0 0.0 -20,243
Cornwall 16,541 3.9 -13,273
Newham 2,491 1.2 -13,183
Northampton 2,659 1.7 -11,851
Shropshire 3,360 1.4 -11,551
Barnet 2,422 1.0 -11,255
Maidstone 10,498 8.7 -9,257
Durham 1,191 0.3 -6,683
Taunton Deane -7,578
Adur 370 0.8 -109
Staffordshire Moorlands 195 0.2 -99
North West Leicestershire 20 0.0 -97
Lewes 569 0.7 -82
Cotswold 105 0.2 -80
Oadby and Wigston 45 0.1 -73
Newcastle-Under-Lyme 885 0.9 -72
Shetland Islands 17 0.1 -48
Surrey Heath 602 0.9 -36
Tunbridge Wells 0 0.0 -22

The following constituencies are covered by these areas:

East Ham

West Ham

Elmet and Rothwell

Leeds Central

Leeds East

Leeds North East

Leeds North West

Leeds West

Morley and Outwood


Birmingham Edgbaston

Birmingham, Erdington

Birmingham, Hall Green

Birmingham, Hodge Hill

Birmingham, Ladywood

Birmingham Northfield

Birmingham, Perry Barr

Birmingham Selly Oak

Birmingham, Yardley

Sutton Coldfield

Camborne and Redruth

North Cornwall

South East Cornwall

St Ives (includes the Isles of Scilly)

Truro and Falmouth

Northampton North

Northampton South

South Northamptonshire


North Shropshire

Shrewsbury and Atcham

The Wrekin

Chipping Barnet

Finchley and Golders Green


Faversham and Mid Kent

Maidstone and The Weald

Taunton Deane

Bishop Auckland

City of Durham


North Durham

North West Durham


East Worthing and Shoreham

Staffordshire Moorlands


North West Leicestershire

Brighton, Kemptown


The Cotswolds



Staffordshire Moorlands

Stoke-on-Trent North


Orkney and Shetland

Surrey Heath

Maidstone and The Weald

Tunbridge Wells

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.