Speed Limits: Cameras

Transport written question – answered on 25th June 2014.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Robert Goodwill Robert Goodwill Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Transport)

In England, the Highways Agency has the following six average speed camera systems on its network:

M3 (Junction 2) (South East Region)

M3 (from the M25) (South East Region)

M25 (J12) (South East Region)

A14 (East of England)

A38 Saltash Tunnel (South West Region)

A3 Hindhead Tunnel (South East Region)

Average speed cameras are also used in road works as a temporary measure.

The Department for Transport does not hold this information for cameras on local authority roads. Local authorities have statutory duties related to road safety and decisions about whether they operate speed cameras are a matter for them.

This is a devolved matter so the Department does not hold information on average speed cameras in Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.