Commemorative Coins

House of Lords written question – answered on 5 March 2014.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Ashcroft Lord Ashcroft Conservative

To ask Her Majesty’s Government which department or agency gave permission for Tristan da Cunha to mint the 70th Anniversary of D-Day Gold Crown coin.

Photo of Baroness Warsi Baroness Warsi Senior Minister of State (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) (Jointly with the Department for Communities and Local Government), Senior Minister of State (Department for Communities and Local Government) (Faith and Communities) (also in the Foreign and Commonwealth Office)

Responsibility for the issue of commemorative coins and postage stamps rests with the Tristan da Cunha government. However, Buckingham Palace approves or disapproves all proposed designs, following advice from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. Her Majesty the Queen approved the 70th Anniversary of D-Day Landings gold Crown.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No1 person thinks not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.