Nuclear Weapons

House of Lords written question – answered at on 19 December 2011.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Ashcroft Lord Ashcroft Conservative

To ask Her Majesty's Government which countries have or they consider are developing nuclear weapons.

Photo of Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Howell of Guildford Minister of State (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) (International Energy Policy)

The Non-Proliferation Treaty recognises five nuclear-weapon states: the US, Russia, UK, France, and China. In addition India and Pakistan have publicly declared that they have nuclear weapons and we consider that North Korea's nuclear test demonstrates a nuclear weapons capability. We share the International Atomic Energy Agency's concerns about the possible military dimensions to the Iranian nuclear programme, and are aware of the widespread assumption that Israel has nuclear weapons.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.