We need your support to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can continue to hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder


House of Lords written question – answered on 12th December 2011.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Laird Lord Laird UUP

To ask Her Majesty's Government, further to the Written Answer by Lord Henley on 30 November (WA 78), why the embassy to the Holy See does not issue passports; and how many other British embassies do not issue passports.

Photo of Lord Henley Lord Henley The Minister of State, Home Department

There are eight locations outside the UK where passports are issued. Since October 2010 the Foreign and Commonwealth Office has operated seven regional passport processing centres, plus a passport section in the British embassy in Dublin.

The regional passport processing centres are located in Wellington, Hong Kong, Pretoria, Dusseldorf, Paris, Madrid and Washington.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.