Elections: Voting System

House of Lords written question – answered at on 17 October 2011.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Ashcroft Lord Ashcroft Conservative

To ask Her Majesty's Government in which Commonwealth countries United Kingdom citizens who reside there cannot vote but citizens of those countries residing in the United Kingdom can.

Photo of Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Howell of Guildford Minister of State (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) (International Energy Policy)

All Commonwealth citizens who reside in the UK are entitled to register to vote in UK elections. The following information on voting in Commonwealth countries has been provided by the relevant authorities.

British citizens cannot vote in the following Commonwealth countries: Australia, the Bahamas, Bangladesh, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Cameroon, Canada, the Gambia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St Lucia, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia.

Commonwealth citizens are eligible to vote in the following countries:

after they have lived there for one year: Dominica, Belize, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, New Zealand, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and Grenadines;after they have lived there for three years: Barbados;after they have been resident for seven years: Antigua and Barbuda, Malawi; andafter they have permanent residence status: Trinidad and Tobago.

I await information on Samoa, Cyprus, and Namibia. I will write to my noble friend with this information when I have received it and place a copy of the letter in the Library of the House.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.