Defence written question – answered on 15th September 2011.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Peter Luff Peter Luff The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Defence

As at 7 September 2011, the Order of Battle for the fleet was as follows:

Landing Platform Helicopter (1)2
Landing Platform Dock 2
T45 3
T42 4
T23 13
Hunt Class MCV 8
Sandown Class MCV 7
River Class Offshore Patrol Vessels 3
Helicopter Offshore Patrol Vessels 1
P2000 Patrol Boats 18
Ocean Survey Vessels 1
Coastal Survey Vessels 3
Antarctic Patrol Ship 1
Ships Submersible Ballistic Nuclear 4
Ship Submersible Nuclear 7
Assault Helicopters—Sea King Mk4 3 Sqns
Search and Rescue—Sea King Mk5 2 Sqns
Airbourne Surveillance and Control—Sea King Mk7 3 Sqns
Anti Submarine and Anti Surface:  
Merlin Mk1 Lynx 4 Sqns
Mk3 and Mk8 3 Sqns
Battlefield Helicopters—Lynx Mk9 1 Sqn
Elementary Flying 3 Sqns
Beechcraft King Air 350ER Avenger 1 Sqn
(1) HMS Illustrious is now operating in the Landing Platform Helicopter role, as well as HMS Ocean.

For the Royal Fleet Auxiliary:

Fleet Tankers 2
Support Tankers 1
Small Fleet Tankers 2
Fleet Replenishment Ships 3
Landing Ship Dock 3
Aviation Training Ship 1
Forward Repair Ship 1

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No1 person thinks not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.