Only a few days to go: We’re raising £25,000 to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder


Energy and Climate Change written question – answered on 7th July 2011.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Paul Flynn Paul Flynn Labour, Newport West

To ask the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change who the members are of the technical co-ordination group created to consider how the results of national radiation monitoring are to be collated and communicated to the public; and what relevant experience and expertise each such member has.

Photo of Charles Hendry Charles Hendry The Minister of State, Department of Energy and Climate Change

The technical co-ordination group's role is to look at how information collected by the national radiation monitoring network and nuclear emergency response system (RIMNET) and other radiation monitoring capabilities can best be made accessible to the public.

The group is made up of representatives from a number of Departments and agencies each with a role in radiation monitoring. Core member organisations are the Department of Energy and Climate Change, Environment Agency, Met Office, RIMNET, GO Science, Food Standards Agency, Health Protection Agency, The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, and The Scottish Environment Protection Agency (SEPA). Other organisations, such as the Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (CEFAS), may be invited to attend meetings on an ad hoc basis as appropriate. Relevant individuals will be drawn from these organisations to participate in the group's meetings based on their expertise and the agenda for discussion. Thus, the group's membership varies depending on the specific issues subject to its consideration at any given time.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.