History: GCSE

Education written question – answered on 10th June 2011.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Chris Ruane Chris Ruane Labour, Vale of Clwyd

To ask the Secretary of State for Education what information he holds on the (a) name and (b) constituency of each school which took part in the OCR GCSE History pilot course.

Photo of Nick Gibb Nick Gibb Minister of State (Education)

101 schools across 63 constituencies took part in the OCR GCSE History pilot course. The name and constituency of each school is shown in the following table:

School name Constituency
Beal High School Ilford North
Saltley School and Specialist Science College Birmingham, Hodge Hill
Handsworth Wood Girls' Visual and Performing Arts Specialist College and Sixth Form Centre Birmingham, Perry Barr
Plantsbrook School Sutton Coldfield
Handsworth Grammar School Birmingham, Perry Barr
King Edward VI Handsworth School Birmingham, Perry Barr
King Edward VI Five Ways School Birmingham, Edgbaston
Sandwell Academy Warley
Grace Academy Solihull Meriden
CTC Kingshurst Academy Meriden
Blue Coat Church of England Comprehensive School A Performing Arts Specialist College Walsall South
Queen Mary's Grammar School Walsall South
Aldridge School—A Science College Aldridge-Brownhills
Highfields Science Specialist School Wolverhampton South West
St Peter's Collegiate Church of England School Wolverhampton South West
Wolverhampton Girls' High School Wolverhampton South West
Aire Valley School Shipley
Bradford Grammar School Bradford West
Dixons City Academy Bradford East
Bradford Academy Bradford East
Holmfirth High School Colne Valley
Shelley College—A Specialist Centre for Science Dewsbury
John Smeaton Community College Leeds East
Benton Park School Pudsey
Crawshaw School Pudsey
Guiseley School Pudsey
Horsforth School Pudsey
St Mary's Catholic Comprehensive School, Menston Pudsey
Crofton High School—Specialists in Maths and Computing Hemsworth
Featherstone Technology College Hemsworth
St Wilfrid's Catholic High School and Sixth Form College Hemsworth
Lord Lawson of Beamish Community School Blaydon
Cardinal Hume Catholic School Gateshead
Oxclose Community School Washington and Sunderland West
St Aidan's Catholic School Sunderland Central
St Robert of Newminster Roman Catholic School Washington and Sunderland West
Harrogate Grammar School Harrogate and Knaresborough
St Aidan's Church of England High School Harrogate and Knaresborough
Challney High School for Boys and Community College Luton North
Harlington Upper School Bedfordshire, Mid
Ilkeston School: Specialist Arts College Erewash
Kirk Hallam Community Technology and Sports College Erewash
Highfields School Derbyshire Dales
Heanor Gate Science College Amber Valley
Noel-Baker Community School and Language College Derby South
Framwellgate School Durham City of Durham
Durham Gilesgate Sports College and Sixth Form Centre City of Durham
Paget High School, Business and Enterprise College Burton
King Edward VI School Lichfield
Wolgarston High School Stafford
Ounsdale High School Staffordshire South
The Friary School Lichfield
Cheslyn Hay Sport and Community High School Staffordshire South
Blessed William Howard Catholic School Stafford
St John Fisher Catholic College Newcastle-under-Lyme
Edensor Technology College Stoke-on-Trent South
Tiverton High School Tiverton and Honiton
Ridgeway School South West Devon
Devonport High School for Boys Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport
Torquay Girls Grammar School Torbay
Torquay Community College Torbay
Westlands School Torbay
St Cuthbert Mayne School Torbay
Torquay Boys' Grammar School Torbay
Alec Hunter Humanities College Braintree
The Deanes School Castle Point
William de Ferrers School Maldon
The Sandon School Maldon
Maltings Academy Witham
South Bromsgrove Community High School Bromsgrove
Wolverley CofE Secondary School Wyre Forest
Colne Primet High School Pendle
Southlands High School Chorley
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Ribble Valley
Ashfield Comprehensive School Ashfield
The Meden School and Technology College Mansfield
Valley Comprehensive School Bassetlaw
Portland School Bassetlaw
The Grove School Newark
Joseph Whitaker School Sherwood
The Holgate Comprehensive School Sherwood
All Saints RC Comprehensive School Mansfield
Farnborough School Technology College Nottingham South
Sir James Smith's Community School North Cornwall
Torpoint Community College South East Cornwall
Fowey Community College St Austell and Newquay
Budehaven Community School North Cornwall
Wadebridge School North Cornwall
Bodmin College North Cornwall
Newquay Tretherras School St Austell and Newquay
Liskeard School and Community College South East Cornwall
Looe Community School South East Cornwall
Barclay School Stevenage
The Nobel School Stevenage
The Thomas Alleyne School Stevenage
Tring School South West Hertfordshire
The John Henry Newman Catholic School Stevenage
Education and Youth Services (Herts) Stevenage
Caroline Chisholm School South Northamptonshire
Mildenhall College of Technology West Suffolk
George Abbot School Guildford

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.