Government: Ministerial Visits

House of Lords written question – answered at on 9 December 2010.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Ashcroft Lord Ashcroft Conservative

To ask Her Majesty's Government what were the names and positions held of the business leaders who accompanied the Prime Minister on his visit to China.

Photo of Baroness Wilcox Baroness Wilcox The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills

The Prime Minister was accompanied by four Cabinet Ministers and 49 business, education and cultural leaders on his visit to China, 9-10 November 2010. These were:

The Chancellor of the Exchequer;Secretary of State for Business Innovation and Skills;Secretary of State for Energy; Secretary of State for Education;Pat Tindale, CEO, 4energy;Stefano Pessina, Executive Chairman, Alliance Boots;Philip Dilley, Chair, Arup;Graham Cartledge CBE, Chairman, Benoy;David Frost, Director General, British Chambers of Commerce;Sir David Brewer CMG, Chairman and CEO, CBBC;Lord Powell, Chairman, Asia Task Force;Jim McColl, Chairman and CEO, Clyde Blowers;Paul Walsh, CEO, Diageo;Clive Martell, Managing Director, Delcam;Sir Nigel Knowles, CEO, DLA Piper;Sir Kevin Smith CBE CEO, GKN;Ulf Henriksson, CEO, Invensys;Ken Shuttleworth, Founder, Make Architects;John Russell, CEO, Manganese Bronze Holdings;John Whittaker, Chairman, Peel Holdings;Ben Gordon, CEO, Mothercare;Paul Priestman, Director, Priestmangoode;Dave Shemmans, CEO, Ricardo;Richard Steeves, Group CEO, Synergy Health;Graham Curren, CEO, Sondrel;Lucy Neville-Rolfe CMG, Executive Director, Tesco;Stuart Popham, Chair, TheCityUK; Douglas Caster CBE, CEO, Ultra Electronics;Vernon Ellis, Chair, British Council;Julie Southern, CCO, Virgin Atlantic Airways;Sandie Dawe MBE, CEO, VisitBritain;Bob Wigley, Chairman, Yell Group plc;Anthony Habgood, Chairman, Whitbread Group PLC/Reed Elsevier;Marcus Agius, Group Chairman, Barclays;John Fallon, CEO International Education, Pearson;John Paterson, President, Rolls-Royce Marine;Ian Irvine, Co-founder and Technical Director, SgurrEnergy;Peter Voser, CEO, Shell;George Weston, CEO, Associated British Foods;Peter Sands, Group CEO, Standard Chartered;Tim Breedon, Group CEO, Legal & General;David Nish, CEO, Standard Life;Richard Lambert, Director General, CBI;Sir Philip Hampton, Chairman, Royal Bank of Scotland;Joan MacNaughton, Senior Vice President, Alstom Power;Jean-Michel Aubertin, CEO, Doosan Power;Neil MacGregor, Director, British Museum;Sir Mark Jones, Director, Victoria & Albert Museum;Pat Howarth, Head Teacher, Hummersknott School;Prof David Greenaway, Vice Chancellor, University of Nottingham;Elizabeth Reid, Chief Executive, Specialist Schools and Academies Trust;Prof Steve Smith, President, Universities UK and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Exeter and Chris Morecroft, President, Association of Colleges.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.