Connecting Communities

House of Lords written question – answered on 23rd February 2010.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Greaves Lord Greaves Spokesperson for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Spokesperson for Communities and Local Government

To ask Her Majesty's Government how much has been allocated to each neighbourhood in the Connecting Communities programme; and what are the rules which determine the spending of such money.

Photo of Lord McKenzie of Luton Lord McKenzie of Luton Parliamentary Under-Secretary (also in the Department for Communities and Local Government), Department for Communities and Local Government, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (also in the Department for Communities and Local Government), Department for Work and Pensions, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Communities and Local Government) (also in Department for Work and Pensions), Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Work and Pensions) (also in the Department for Communities and Local Government)

The following tables provide information on the grant funding allocated to each area to support their proposals for participating in the Connecting Communities programme. The funding for Connecting Community areas were paid to local authorities under Section 31 of the Local Government Act 2003 as an unringfenced grant.

Local Authority Connecting Community Area Funding (£)
Amber Valley Borough Council Aldercar & Langley Mill 77,000
Barking & Dagenham, London Borough of Alibon 60,000
Heath Wards
Barnet, London Borough of Coppetts 50,000
High Barnet
Barnsley MBC Athersley & New Lodge 76,550
Darton West
Basildon District Council Laindon 33,800
Bassetlaw District Council Harworth 78,000
Bath & North East Somerset Council London Road, Snowhill 95,000
Queens Road, Keynesham
Bexley, London Borough of Colyers & North End 60,000
Birmingham City Council Bartley Green, Weoley Castle 236,886
Druids Heath, Brandwood Ward
Kingstanding, Stockland Green and Erdington
Masefield Estate
Shard End
Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council Little Harwood 50,000
Blackpool South, Central and Grange Park 50,000
Bolton Breightmet 50,000
Borough of Poole Council Bourne Valley, Rossmore 34,000
Bournemouth Boscombe 88,900
West Howe
Bradford East Shipley 46,000
Keighley West, Bracken Bank
Brighton & Hove City Council Moulescoomb & Woodingdean 75,000
Bristol City Council Hillfields 55,000
St George East & West, Brislington East
Bromley, London Borough of Cray Valley & Mottingham 88,000
Broxbourne Borough Council Bury Green Ward 49,000
Bucks County Council Castlefield 55,000
Burnley Padiham 60,000
Calderdale Mixenden and Illingworth 70,800
Camden Gospel Oak, St Pancras & Somers Town, Haverstock, Regent's Park 80,000
Cheltenham St. Pauls, Nesters Way, Oakley, The Moors (St Peters), Springbank, St Marks 26,997
Cheshire West and Chester Council Ellesmere Port 50,000
Copeland Borough Council, Cumbria Cleator Moor 88,200
Coventry Canley 96,000
Hillfields, St Michael's ward
Crawley Borough Council Bewbush & Iffield 34,315
Croydon, London Borough of Fieldway 270,000
New Addington
Doncaster Carcroft and Skellow 60,000
Lower Wheatley/Netherhall
Dudley Castle and Priory ward 70,000
Durham County Council Spennymoor 50,000
East Riding of Yorkshire Council Goole 19,500
Enfield, London Borough of Chase 37,500
Enfield Highway
Enfield Lock
Ponders End
Southbury and Turkey Street
Fenland Clarkson ward, Wisbech 50,000
Gateshead MBC Felling 50,000
Gedling Borough Council Killisick 75,000
Gloucester Barton & Tredworth, Westgate, Kingsholm, Matson & Robinswood, Kingsway (Quedgeley) 57,460
Great Yarmouth Borough Council Nelson 48,500
Greenwich, London Borough of Brook, Page and Corelli Estates 30,180
Hartlepool Borough Council Dyke House, Stranton, Grange 42,200
Hastings Borough Council Greater Hollington and Ore Valley 84,400
Havering, London Borough of Mawneys and Elm Park 62,700
Herefordshire County Council Newton Farm and Golden Post (Belmont Ward) 50,000
Hillingdon, London Borough of Yeading 40,000
Hounslow, London Borough of Bedfont, Feltham North and West, Hanworth and Hanworth Park 60,000
Kensington and Chelsea, Royal Borough of North Kensington 70,000
King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council North Lynn (Norfolk) 58,000
Kirklees Golcar 71,450
Knowsley MBC Page Moss 50,000
Lancaster Council Skerton 58,000
Leeds City Council Belle Isle 60,000
Leicester City Council Eyres Monsell 143,500
New Parks Ward
Lincoln City Council Abbey Ward 75,000
Liverpool City Council Speke Estate 58,000
Luton Borough of Luton 70,810
Manchester Northenden 50,000
Middlesbrough Thorntree 28,300
Milton Keynes Council Tinkers Bridge (Woughton Ward) 43,000
Newcastle-Upon-Tyne City Council Elswick 65,000
North East Lincolnshire Council Fiveways 25,500
North Lincolnshire Council Caistor Road Estate (Barton Ward) 28,525
North Somerset District Council Western-Super-Mare Central Ward 47,000
North West Leicestershire District Council Measham 45,000
Northampton Borough Council Thorplands 35,000
Nottingham City Council Aspley Ward 80,000
Nuneaton and Bedworth in Warwickshire Abbey and Wembrook 35,000
Camp Hill
Oldham MBC Waterhead 60,000
Oxford City Council Blackbird leys and Greater leys 79,169
Pendle Brierfield & Reedley 60,000
Peterborough Central Ward 93,000
Westwood and Ravensthorpe
Plymouth St Peter and Waterfront (Stonehouse Neighbourhood) 35,000
Portsmouth Charles Dickens Ward (including areas of Nelson and St Thomas wards) 84,600
Redbridge, London Borough of Hainault 71,437
Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council Southbank & Grangetown 95,000
Richmond upon Thames, London Borough of Castelnau 75,000
Hampton North (Nursery Lands)
Rochdale MBC Kirkholt 50,000
Rotherham MBC Dinnington 10,500
East Maltby
Rushmoor Borough Council Prospect Estate 57,000
Salford Gainsborough Street Area, Higher Broughton 61,000
Sandwell MBC Brickhouse and Springfield, 304,000
Blackheath and Grace Mary
Friar Park
Ocker Hill
Tibbington Estate, Princes End
Sheffield City Council Broomhall 76,500
Fir Vale
Manor Castle
South Holland District Council Holbeach 78,000
Long Sutton
Sutton Bridge
South Tyneside MBC Central Jarrow 40,000
Southampton City Council Bitterne (area around Sullivan Road, Sholing) 83,000
Mill brook
Staffordshire County Council Etching Hill and Heath ward 53,000
Stockport MBC Offerton 55,000
Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council Newtown 52,000
Stockton Town Centre
Stoke-on-Trent City Council Bentilee 150,000
Burslem & Shelton
Sunderland City Council Castle, Redhill and Southwick 40,000
Sutton, London Borough of Sutton Northern Wards: St Helier, Wandle Valley and The Wrythe 57,000
Swale Sheerness 19,500
Swindon Borough Council East Cluster Swindon (Park North, Park South, Walcot East neighbourhood renewal areas), Inner North Cluster (Pinehurst ward) 83,500
Park Ward, Walcot East
Tameside Hyde Newton 60,000
Telford and Wrekin Arleston and College 55,000
Thanet District Council Cliftonville West and Margate Central 22,000
Thurrock Council Tilbury Riverside and St Chad's 83,000
Trafford Partington 79,500
Wakefield Eastmoor and College Grove 18,500
Walsall MBC Birchills 30,000
Wigan Hilton Park 68,500
Wolverhampton MBC Bilston East 0
Total 6,608,679

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No1 person thinks not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.