Education: Land-based Diploma

House of Lords written question – answered on 29th June 2009.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Taylor of Holbeach Shadow Minister, Environment, Food & Rural Affairs, Shadow Minister, Work & Pensions

To ask Her Majesty's Government further to the Written Answer by the Minister of State at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Jane Kennedy, on 24 February (Official Report, House of Commons, col. 559—60W), which councils will not offer the diploma in environmental and land-based studies in each of the academic years from 2009 to 2012.

Photo of Baroness Morgan of Drefelin Baroness Morgan of Drefelin Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Children, Young People and Families), Department for Children, Schools and Families, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Children, Schools and Families) (Children, Young People and Families)

Local areas apply through the Gateway process to be approved to deliver specific lines. By 2013, every local area will be responsible for making sure that all diploma lines are accessible to their young people, so we anticipate that coverage and availability of all diploma lines will increase over time. The tables below show which local authorities will not be offering the diploma in environmental and land-based studies in 2009 and 2010. This information is subject to change as additional areas may be approved to deliver in 2010. We do not yet have information for 2011 and 2012 delivery.

Local Authorities not offering ELBS in 2009
Barking and Dagenham Leicestershire
Barnet Lewisham
Bath and Ne Somerset Luton
Bedford Borough Manchester
Bexley Merton
Birmingham Middlesbrough
Blackburn With Darwen Milton Keynes
Blackpool Newcastle Upon Tyne
Bolton Newham
Bournemouth North Lincolnshire
Bracknell Forest North Somerset
Brent North Tyneside
Bromley Nottinghamshire
Buckinghamshire Oldham
Bury Oxfordshire
Calderdale Poole
Camden Portsmouth
Central Bedfordshire Reading
Cheshire West And Chester Redbridge
City of Bristol Redcar And Cleveland
City of Derby Richmond Upon Thames
City of Nottingham Rochdale
City of Peterborough Rutland
Corporation of London Salford
Coventry Sandwell
Croydon Sefton
Darlington Slough
Derbyshire Solihull
Dudley Somerset
Durham South Tyneside
Ealing Southampton
Enfield Southend-on-Sea
Gateshead Southwark
Gloucestershire St Helens
Greenwich Staffordshire
Hackney Stockport
Halton Stockton on Tees
Hammersmith and Fulham Stoke on Trent
Haringey Sutton
Harrow Swindon
Hartlepool Tameside
Havering Thurrock
Herefordshire Trafford
Hertfordshire Wakefield
Hillingdon Walsall
Hounslow Waltham Forest
Isle of Wight Wandsworth
Isles of Scilly Warrington
Kensington and Chelsea Warwickshire
Kingston Upon Hull West Berkshire
Kingston Upon Thames Westminster
Kirklees Wiltshire
Knowsley Windsor and Maidenhead
Lambeth Wirral
Leeds Wokingham
Local Authorities not offering ELBS in 2010
Barking and Dagenham Lambeth
Barnet Lewisham
Bath and Ne Somerset Luton
Bexley Manchester
Birmingham Merton
Bournemouth Milton Keynes
Bracknell Forest North Lincolnshire
Brent North Tyneside
Buckinghamshire Nottinghamshire
Bury Oldham
Calderdale Poole
Camden Portsmouth
Central Bedfordshire Reading
Cheshire West and Chester Redbridge
City of Bristol Richmond Upon Thames
City of Peterborough Rochdale
Corporation of London Rutland
Croydon Salford
Darlington Sandwell
Ealing Sefton
Gateshead Slough
Greenwich South Tyneside
Hackney Southampton
Halton Southend-on-Sea
Hammersmith and Fulham Southwark
Haringey Stockport
Harrow Stockton on Tees
Hartlepool Sutton
Havering Swindon
Herefordshire Tameside
Hillingdon Trafford
Hounslow Wakefield
Isles of Scilly Walsall
Kensington and Chelsea Wandsworth
Kingston Upon Hull Warrington
Kingston Upon Thames West Berkshire
Kirklees Westminster
Knowsley Wokingham

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.