Postal Votes: Lancashire

Electoral Commission Committee written question – answered on 24th June 2009.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lindsay Hoyle Lindsay Hoyle Labour, Chorley

To ask the hon. Member for South West Devon, representing the Speaker's Committee on the Electoral Commission what information the Electoral Commission holds on the proportion of postal votes spoiled in each ward in Lancashire County Council in the 2009 county council elections.

Photo of Gary Streeter Gary Streeter Conservative, South West Devon

The Electoral Commission informs me that it is not possible to provide information about the proportion of postal votes which are spoiled, because ballot papers which have been returned by post are mixed with ballot papers from polling stations before they are counted.

The table provides information on the proportion of ballot papers counted in each division of Lancashire county council at the 2009 elections which were deemed to have been spoiled. Returning officers are not required to report information about the proportion of returned postal votes which were rejected because of a missing or incomplete postal voting statement until 25 days after polling day. The Commission will include an analysis of rejected postal votes in its report on the June 2009 elections in October 2009.

Division Proportion (percentage)
Accrington North 2.6
Accrington South 0.5
Accrington West 3.1
Amounderness 1.1
Bamber Bridge and Walton-le-Dale 1.7
Brierfield and Nelson North 1.8
Burnley Central East 0.7
Burnley Central West 0.6
Burnley North East 0.5
Burnley Rural 0.7
Burnley South West 2.3
Chorley East 0.5
Chorley North 0.5
Chorley Rural East 1.3
Chorley Rural North 1.2
Chorley Rural West 2.6
Chorley South 1.7
Chorley West 3.5
Clitheroe 1.8
Farington 1.3
Fleetwood East 0.5
Fleetwood West 0.6
Fylde East 0.6
Fylde South 0.5
Fylde West 0.3
Garstang 0.5
Great Harwood 0.9
Heysham 0.7
Lancaster Central 0.4
Lancaster East 1.0
Lancaster Rural East 0.6
Lancaster Rural North 0.6
Lancaster South East 0.4
Leyland Central 1.2
Leyland South West 1.5
Longridge with Bowland 1.1
Lytham 0.5
Morecambe North 1.3
Morecambe South 0.9
Morecambe West 1.1
Nelson South 0.4
Ormskirk West 0.0
Oswaldtwistle 3.3
Padiham and Burnley West 0.7
Pendle Central 0.5
Pendle East 0.2
Pendle West 0.5
Penwortham North 0.6
Penwortham South 2.2
Poulton-le-Fylde 0.6
Preston Central North 0.4
Preston Central South 0.8
Preston City 0.8
Preston East 0.7
Preston North 1.0
Preston North East 0.7
Preston North West 1.6
Preston Rural 0.6
Preston South East 1.2
Preston West 1.0
Ribble Valley North East 0.8
Ribble Valley South West 0.6
Rishton and Clayton-le-Moors 2.4
Rossendale East 0.4
Rossendale North 0.6
Rossendale South 1.9
Rossendale West 0.6
Skelmersdale Central 0.7
Skelmersdale East 1.2
Skelmersdale West 0.6
Skerton 0.6
South Ribble Rural East 1.8
South Ribble Rural West 0.4
St. Annes North 0.4
St. Annes South 0.4
Thornton Cleveleys Central 0.6
Thornton Cleveleys North 0.7
West Craven 0.5
West Lancashire East 0.9
West Lancashire North 0.9
West Lancashire South 1.1
West Lancashire West 0.3
Whitworth 0.8
Wyreside 0.9

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.