Health: Bilateral Agreements

House of Lords written question – answered on 23rd June 2009.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Laird Lord Laird Crossbench

To ask Her Majesty's Government with which European Union countries they have bilateral agreements for the payment of costs for (a) United Kingdom pensioners, and (b) health services for all ages.

Photo of Lord Darzi of Denham Lord Darzi of Denham Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department of Health, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Health)

The United Kingdom currently has bilateral healthcare agreements with the following European economic area (EEA) member states: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden. These agreements are in line with EU Regulation 1408/71 which covers cross-border healthcare. The agreements all have different terms and conditions but all relate to healthcare for pensioners, workers, tourists and the dependents of the former two groups and are reciprocal in nature.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.