Only a few days to go: We’re raising £25,000 to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder

Economic Partnership Agreements: ACP Countries

House of Lords written question – answered on 18th June 2009.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of The Earl of Sandwich The Earl of Sandwich Crossbench

To ask Her Majesty's Government which African, Caribbean and Pacific countries have not yet accepted an interim national or regional economic partnership agreement with the European Union; and what transitional assistance and advice is being given to them by the Department for International Development.

Photo of Lord Brett Lord Brett Government Whip, Government Whip

The following 41 African Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries have not as yet signed an economic partnership agreement (EPA) with the European Union (EU):

Gabon, Republic of Congo-(Brazzaville), the Cook Islands, Tonga, Marshall Islands, Niue, Micronesia, Palau, Nauru, Nigeria, Central African Republic, DR Congo, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Sao Tome, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Malawi, Somalia, Sudan, East Timor, Kiribati, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo and Angola.

The Department for International Development's (DfID) assistance is not linked to signing of EPAs. However, DfID provides significant support through such measures as aid for trade to help ACP countries, as well as other developing countries, to increase their trading capacity and to help them integrate further into regional and global markets.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.