Departmental Internet

Defence written question – answered on 17th November 2008.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Theresa May Theresa May Shadow Minister (Women), Shadow Leader of the House of Commons

To ask the Secretary of State for Defence for which Government websites his Department is responsible; how many visitors each received in the last period for which figures are available; and what the cost of maintaining each site was in that period.

Photo of Bob Ainsworth Bob Ainsworth The Minister of State, Ministry of Defence

The information is provided in the following table:

Website URL Cost FY 2007-08 (£) Visitors
Acquisition Operating Framework www.aof.mod.uk n/a 3.376 million page requests for FY 2008-09 to date
Admiralty Leisure www.admiraltyleisure.co.uk Included in cost for UKHO 75,656 October 2007 to October 2008
Army Fit www.armyfit.mod.uk n/a 2,128,812 (page views)
Army Online www.armyonline.mod.uk n/a n/a
British Army www.army.mod.uk £150,000 8,472,991
British Army Jobs www.armyjobs.mod.uk £266,749 27,978,203 (page views)
British Forces Post Office www.bfpo.mod.uk £3,295 n/a
Camouflage www.camouflage.mod.uk n/a 859,146 (page views)
Chief Scientific Advisor www.science.mod.uk (1) n/a
Competition of Ideas www.ideas.mod.uk £42,000 n/a
Grand Challenge www.challenge.mod.uk £2,000 n/a
Counter Terrorism Centre www.ctcentre.mod.uk n/a 17,123 (over last 12 months)
DCSA Catalogue (now ICS Catalogue) www.dcsacat.mod.uk (www.icscat.mod.uk) £881.90 (does not include staff costs) 80,000 page requests for the one page where a 'hit counter' is installed
Defence Academy www.defac.ac.uk £17,250 (31 October 2007 to November 2008) 1,020,128
Defence Analytical Services Agency www.dasa.mod.uk £21,600 (does not include staff costs) 22,693 (August to October 2008)
Defence Dynamics(2) www.defencedynamics.mod.uk £22,000 (1 October 2007 to 31 March 2008) 1,549,220 (number of 'hits' 1 October 2007 to 31 March 2008)
Defence Engineering and Science Group www.desg.mod.uk £360 78,000
Defence Estates www.defence-estates.mod.uk Included in costs for www.mod.uk Site averages 2,000 hits per day since September
Defence Export Services Organisation www.deso.mod.uk n/a n/a
Defence Image Database www.defenceimagedatabase.mod.uk n/a n/a
Defence Science and Technology Laboratory www.dstl.mod.uk n/a 624,611 (over last 12 months)
Defence Support Group(3) www.dsg.mod.uk £23,333 April to October 2008 25,329 April to October 2008
Disposal Services Authority www.edisposals.com £255,810 183,241
Met Office www.metoffice.gov.uk £569,278 232,938,512 (page views)
Ministry of Defence www.mod.uk £325,600 4,336,104
MOD Procurement Portal www.contracts.mod.uk n/a n/a
National Army Museum (NAM) www.national-army-museum.ac.uk n/a n/a
National Employer Advisory Board www.sabre.mod.uk £28,975 (staff costs not included) 65,669
RAF www.raf.mod.uk £155,000 6,216,030
Royal Navy www.royalnavy.mod.uk £283,000 4,369,726
Service Children's Education www.sceschools.com/new €2,000 10,360,831 (This is number of 'hits' for November 2007 to October 2008)
Service Personnel and Veterans Agency www.veterans-uk.info £31,736 696,135
Soldier www.soldier.mod.uk n/a n/a
UK Defence Standardisation www.dstan.mod.uk £3,608 (1 January to 31 May 2008) 84,193 (1 January to 31 May 2008))
UK Hydrographic Office www.ukho.gov.uk £197,568 FY 2008-09 373,077 October 2007 to October 2008
Admiralty charts and publications www.nmwebsearch.com Included in cost for UKHO 48,191 October 2007 to October 2008
Schools—Defence Dynamics www.schools.defencedynamics.mod.uk n/a n/a
n/a = Not available. (1 )Not applicable. (2) The Defence Dynamics site launched in October 2007; figures provided are from 1 October 2007 to 31 March 2008 and do not include the cost of the original site build or the cost of producing lessons to be displayed on the site as these are not considered to be site 'maintenance' expenses. (3) Defence Support Group (DSG) was born of the merger of ABRO and DARA on 1 April 2008. (The annualised cost of maintaining the site is estimated at £40,000)

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.