Primary Care Trusts

Health written question – answered on 22nd October 2008.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Norman Lamb Norman Lamb Shadow Secretary of State for Health, Liberal Democrat Spokesperson (Health)

To ask the Secretary of State for Health if he will list primary care trusts in the order of level of deprivation of the community each serves.

Photo of Dawn Primarolo Dawn Primarolo Minister of State (Department of Health) (Public Health)

The Indices of Deprivation 2007 are the Government's official measure of multiple deprivation at small area level. The Index of Multiple Deprivation brings together 37 different indicators which cover specific aspects or dimensions of deprivation, covering income, employment, health and disability, education, training and skills, barriers to housing and services, crime and living environment.

The Index of Multiple Deprivation is a relative measure of deprivation and therefore cannot be used to say 'how much' more deprived area X is than area Y, though it can be used to say that area X is more deprived than area Y.

The following primary care trusts (PCTs) are listed according to the rank order given by the Index of Multiple Deprivation 2007.

1. Heart of Birmingham Teaching PCT

2. Liverpool PCT

3. City and Hackney Teaching PCT

4. Tower Hamlets PCT

5. Manchester PCT

6. Knowsley PCT

7. Newham PCT

8. Islington PCT

9. Middlesbrough PCT

10. Birmingham East and North PCT

11. Hull Teaching PCT

12. Blackpool PCT

13. Nottingham City PCT

14. Sandwell PCT

15. Salford PCT

16. Blackburn with Darwen PCT

17. Haringey Teaching PCT

18. Stoke on Trent PCT

19. Lambeth PCT

20. Leicester City PCT

21. Barking and Dagenham PCT

22. Hartlepool PCT

23. Greenwich Teaching PCT

24. Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale PCT

25. Southwark PCT

26. Waltham Forest PCT

27. Wolverhampton City PCT

28. Bradford and Airedale Teaching PCT

29. Sunderland Teaching PCT

30. Newcastle PCT

31. South Tyneside PCT

32. Lewisham PCT

33. Halton and St Helens PCT

34. South Birmingham PCT

35. Doncaster PCT

36. Oldham PCT

37. Barnsley PCT

38. Walsall Teaching PCT

39. Redcar and Cleveland PCT

40. Bolton PCT

41. Gateshead PCT

42. Brent Teaching PCT

43. North East Lincolnshire PCT

44. Camden PCT

45. Hammersmith and Fulham PCT

46. Wirral PCT

47. Coventry Teaching PCT

48. Sheffield PCT

49. Bristol PCT

50. East Lancashire Teaching PCT

51. Tameside and Glossop PCT

52. County Durham PCT

53. Wakefield District PCT

54. Ashton, Leigh and Wigan PCT

55. Rotherham PCT

56. Derby City PCT

57. Torbay PCT

58. Westminster PCT

59. Enfield PCT

60. Plymouth Teaching PCT

61. Brighton and Hove City PCT

62. Kirklees PCT

63. Sefton PCT

64. Ealing PCT

65. Leeds PCT

66. Great Yarmouth and Waveney PCT

67. Hastings and Rother PCT

68. Luton PCT

69. Peterborough PCT

70. Southampton City PCT

71. Portsmouth City Teaching PCT

72. Darlington PCT

73. Bassetlaw PCT

74. Cornwall and Isles of Scilly PCT

75. North Tees Teaching PCT

76. Dudley PCT

77. Kensington and Chelsea PCT

78. North Tyneside PCT

79. Hounslow PCT

80. Calderdale PCT

81. Telford and Wrekin PCT

82. North Lincolnshire PCT

83. Bury PCT

84. Croydon PCT

85. Cumbria Teaching PCT

86. Barnet PCT

87. Northumberland PCT

88. Central Lancashire PCT

89. Isle of Wight National Health Service PCT

90. Redbridge PCT

91. Wandsworth PCT

92. Eastern and Coastal Kent PCT

93. Medway PCT

94. Bournemouth and Poole Teaching PCT

95. Derbyshire County PCT

96. South West Essex PCT

97. Nottinghamshire County Teaching PCT

98. North East Essex PCT

99. Hillingdon PCT

100. North Lancashire Teaching PCT

101. North Staffordshire PCT

102. Stockport PCT

103. Lincolnshire Teaching PCT

104. Warrington PCT

105. Herefordshire PCT

106. Devon PCT

107. Trafford PCT

108. Norfolk PCT

109. Western Cheshire PCT

110. South East Essex PCT

111. Swindon PCT

112. Shropshire County PCT

113. Bexley PCT

114. Solihull PCT

115. Havering PCT

116. Northamptonshire Teaching PCT

117. Somerset PCT

118. Harrow PCT

119. South Staffordshire PCT

120. East Sussex Downs and Weald PCT

121. Worcestershire PCT

122. Milton Keynes PCT

123. North Somerset PCT

124. Gloucestershire PCT

125. Warwickshire PCT

126. West Essex PCT

127. Bromley PCT

128. Sutton and Merton PCT

129. Dorset PCT

130. East Riding of Yorkshire PCT

131. Suffolk PCT

132. Central and Eastern Cheshire PCT

133. West Kent PCT

134. North Yorkshire and York PCT

135. West Sussex PCT

136. Kingston PCT

137. Berkshire East PCT

138. East and North Hertfordshire PCT

139. Bedfordshire PCT

140. Cambridgeshire PCT

141. Bath and North East Somerset PCT

142. Mid Essex PCT

143. West Hertfordshire PCT

144. Oxfordshire PCT

145. Berkshire West PCT

146. Leicestershire County and Rutland PCT

147. Hampshire PCT

148. Wiltshire PCT

149. South Gloucestershire PCT

150. Richmond and Twickenham PCT

151. Buckinghamshire PCT

152. Surrey PCT


The ranking is from most to least deprived IMD score, using the average of the scores for each component index of deprivation.


Index of Multiple Deprivation, Department of Communities and Local Government website:

Does this answer the above question?

Yes3 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.