Waste Management: Domestic Wastes

Environment Food and Rural Affairs written question – answered on 30th April 2008.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Eric Pickles Eric Pickles Shadow Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government

To ask the Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs which local authorities operate residual household waste collections with a frequency of less than once a week, including those operating pilot schemes with that frequency.

Photo of Joan Ruddock Joan Ruddock Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs) (Climate Change, Biodiversity and Waste)

The following table represents our best understanding of local authorities operating residual household waste collections with a frequency of less than once a week, including pilot schemes. However, due to the often rapid changes in this area, it is unlikely to be completely up to date.

Local authorities operating alternate weekly collections (fortnightly residual waste collections)
Jpp number Local authority
19 Alnwick District Council
104 Amber Valley
139 Ashfield District Council
283 Aylesbury Vale Disrict Council Very small pilot scheme
233 Babergh District Council
90 Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
138 Bassetlaw District Council
18 Berwick-upon-Tweed Borough Council
Blackpool Borough Council
17 Blyth Valley Borough Council
122 Boston Borough Council
Bracknell Forest Borough Council
205 Braintree District Council
225 Breckland District Council
156 Bridgnorth District Council
Bristol City Council
224 Broadland District Council
149 Bromsgrove District Council
137 Broxtowe Borough Council
64 Burnley Borough Council
191 Cambridge City Council
166 Cannock Chase District Council
319 Canterbury City Council
38 Carlisle City Council
16 Castle Morpeth Borough Council
113 Charnwood Borough Council
326 Cherwell District Council
102 Chesterfield Borough Council
344 Chichester District Council
282 Chiltern District Council Phase 1 and Phase 2 introduced—not district-wide
63 Chorley Borough Council
37 Copeland Borough Council
130 Corby Borough Council
31 Crewe and Nantwich Borough Council
216 Dacorum Borough Council
129 Daventry District Council
96 Derby City Council
11 Derwentside District Council
Doncaster Metropolitan Borough Council
303 East Hampshire District Council
121 East Lindsey District Council
302 Eastleigh Borough Council
30 Ellesmere Port and Neston Borough Council
Epping Borough Council AWC during winter only
100 Erewash Borough Council
366 Exeter City Council Only 50 per cent. coverage and do not intend to expand further
Fareham Borough Council
189 Fenland District Council
232 Forest Heath District Council
62 Fylde Borough Council
136 Gedling Borough Council AWC during winter only
300 Gosport Borough Council
223 Great Yarmouth Borough Council
84 Hambleton District Council
112 Harborough District Council
Hart District Council
4 Hartlepool Borough Council
Hastings Borough Council Started roll out in 2007 and planning for 69 per cent. coverage
298 Havant Borough Council
Hertsmere Borough Council
111 Hinckley and Bosworth Borough Council
99 High Peak Borough Council
188 Huntingdonshire District Council
61 Hyndburn Borough Council
231 Ipswich Borough Council
397 Kennet District Council
127 Kettering Borough Council
Kirklees Metropolitan Borough Council Being introduced from August 2007 over 3 years
60 Lancaster City Council
164 Lichfield District Council
120 Lincoln City Council Propose to switch to AWC during winter only from 2008
London Borough of Bexley Introducing from spring 2008
263 London Borough of Harrow
28 Macclesfield Borough Council
135 Mansfield District Council
110 Melton Borough Council
390 Mendip District Council
183 Mid Bedfordshire District Council
365 Mid Devon District Council
230 Mid Suffolk District Council
341 Mid Sussex District Council Roll-out from August 2007
335 Mole Valley District Council
134 Newark and Sherwood District Council
364 North Devon District Council
North East Derbyshire
North Hertfordshire District Council Introduced October 2007
119 North Kesteven District Council
77 North Lincolnshire Council
221 North Norfolk District Council
155 North Shropshire District Council
109 North West Leicestershire District Council
126 Northampton Borough Council
133 Nottingham City Council
Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council Pilot
154 Oswestry Borough Council
325 Oxford City Council
59 Pendle Borough Council
187 Peterborough City Council
58 Preston Borough Council
373 Purbeck District Council
Reading Borough Council
2 Redcar and Cleveland Borough Council
145 Redditch Borough Council
82 Richmondshire District Council
Rochdale MBC First phase in summer 2006. Roll out postponed until 2008
Rochford District Council Being introduced from April 2008
56 Rossendale Borough Council
Rother District Council
Rotherham Metropolitan Borough Council
Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames Trial
132 Rushcliffe Borough Council
Rushmoor Borough Council 6,500 household trial 2007
106 Rutland County Council Started April 2008
81 Ryedale District Council
Scarborough Borough Council
Sefton MBC First phase introduced. Being rolled out during 2008
311 Shepway District Council
153 Shrewsbury and Atcham Borough Council Late summer 2007
South Bedfordshire District Council
281 South Buckinghamshire District Council 4,400 household trial
186 South Cambridgeshire District Council
97 South Derbyshire District Council
392 South Gloucestershire Council
362 South Hams District Council
117 South Kesteven District Council
35 South Lakeland District Council
219 South Norfolk District Council
125 South Northamptonshire Council
55 South Ribble Borough Council
152 South Shropshire District Council
388 South Somerset District Council
162 South Staffordshire District Council
Spelthorne Borough Council
229 St. Edmundsbury Borough Council
Stafford Borough Council Being introduced from February 2008
160 Staffordshire Moorlands District Council Introduced from September 2007
Stratford-upon-Avon Proposed introduction from August 2008
Suffolk Coastal 9,000 households in 2006 plus 9,500 hhs in 2007 plus 6,000 April 2008
310 Swale Borough Council Roll out from July 2007
Swindon Borough Council Introduced from June 2007
159 Tamworth Borough Council
387 Taunton Deane Borough Council
Thanet District Council
361 Teignbridge District Council
151 Telford and Wrekin Borough Council
295 Test Valley Borough Council
308 Tonbridge and Mailing Borough Council
360 Torbay Council
307 Tunbridge Wells Borough Council
15 Tynedale District Council
195 Uttlesford District Council
27 Vale Royal Borough Council
14 Wansbeck District Council
Warwick District Council Being introduced from April 2008
227 Waveney District Council
329 Waverley Borough Council
286 Wealden District Council
124 Wellingborough Borough Council
54 West Lancashire District Council
394 West Wiltshire District Council
Weymouth and Portland Borough Council
294 Winchester City Council
68 Wirral MBC Introduced from January 2007—not borough wide
328 Woking Borough Council
143 Worcester City Council
280 Wycombe District Council
53 Wyre Borough Council
141 Wyre Forest District Council
78 York City Council

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.