General Certificate of Secondary Education

Education and Skills written question – answered on 27th June 2007.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Nick Gibb Nick Gibb Shadow Minister (Education) (Schools)

To ask the Secretary of State for Education and Skills how many GCSEs are a (a) GCSE short course, (b) GCSE double award, (c) intermediate level GNVQ, (d) GCE AS-level, (e) GCE A-level, (g) BTEC, (h) NVQ, (i) level 2 basic skills certificate, (j) level 2 key skills certificate, (k) Cache Foundation Award in Caring for Children and (l) international GCSE considered to be equivalent for the purposes of GCSE performance tables.

Photo of Jim Knight Jim Knight Minister of State (Schools and 14-19 Learners), Department for Education and Skills, Minister of State (Education and Skills) (Schools and 14-19 Learners)

A short course GCSE is equivalent to half a GCSE. A GCSE double award is equivalent to two GCSEs, an intermediate GNVQ equivalent to four GCSEs, an AS level to two GCSEs. A levels and international GCSEs are not included in the Key Stage 4 Achievement and Attainment Tables. Other qualifications can vary according to the subject. Complete information on the equivalence of all qualifications used in the Achievement and Attainment Tables is published by the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority in the National Database of Accredited Qualifications at

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.