Northern Ireland written question – answered on 13th March 2007.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Sylvia Hermon Sylvia Hermon UUP, North Down

To ask the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland who the members of the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety physiotherapy taskforce are; and for what reason they were appointed in each case.

Photo of Paul Goggins Paul Goggins Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Northern Ireland Office

I established the physiotherapy taskforce to address and provide workable, realistic solutions to the current situation of reported high levels of graduate unemployment among newly trained physiotherapists. It was considered important to involve representatives of the profession, the commissioners, employers and work force planners. Membership of the taskforce therefore comprises representatives of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy, the trade union, HSS Trust physiotherapy management and Human Resources; a member of the physiotherapy work force and a physiotherapy student. A full list of members will be placed in the Library.

Physiotherapy taskforce membership:

Joyce Cairns, Workforce Planning Unit, Human Resources Directorate, DHSSPS

Diane Taylor, Education and Training Unit, Human Resources Directorate, DHSSPS

Catherine Elliman, Clinical Tutor (staff-side rep), Royal Hospital Group HSS Trust

Karen McMaster, Physiotherapy Manager, Causeway HSS Trust

Tom Sullivan, Policy Officer, Chartered Society of Physiotherapy

Linda Austin, Senior Negotiating Officer, Chartered Society of Physiotherapy

Nuala Doherty, Physiotherapy Undergraduate

Wendy Harpur, Lecturer in Health Sciences, University of Ulster

Fiona Crossey, Senior Consultant, Beeches Management Centre

Gloria Mills, Physiotherapy Manager, Mater Hospital HSS Trust

Deirdre Corrigan, Information and Analysis Directorate, DHSSPS

Nuala McArdie, Officer for the Allied Health Professionals, DHSSPS

Brian Beattie, Physiotherapy Manager, Craigavon Area Hospital

Michelle Tennyson, Allied Health Professional Commissioning Advisor, EHSSB

Jean Johns, Physiotherapy Manager, Belfast City Hospital

John Martin, Physiotherapy Manager, Association of Physios in Private Practice

Liz Cavan, PAMS Director, Newry and Mourne Trust

Pauline McAleese, Physiotherapy Manager, UCHT

Sue Prenter, PAMS Manager, Sperrin Lakeland Trust

Fiona Wilson, Physiotherapist, North and West Belfast HSS Trust

Dr. Jackie Gracey, Lecturer in Health Sciences, University of Ulster

Mervyn Barkley, Director of Human Resources, Belfast City Hospital

Muriel McRobbie, Secretariat, Workforce Planning Unit, DHSSPS

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.