Iraq: Transition Readiness Assessment

House of Lords written question – answered on 5th March 2007.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Lord Astor of Hever Lord Astor of Hever Deputy Chief Whip, Whips, Shadow Minister, Defence, Shadow Minister, Foreign Affairs, Shadow Minister, International Development

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Which Iraqi provinces have to date received a transition readiness assessment grade of level 2.

Photo of Lord Triesman Lord Triesman Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Foreign & Commonwealth Office, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Foreign and Commonwealth Office)

The decision on when to transfer responsibility for security in each of Iraq's 18 provinces is taken jointly by the Multi-National Force - Iraq (MNF-I) and the Government of Iraq, on the basis of monthly provincial security transition assessments (PSTAs). Transition readiness assessments are a part of the PSTAs and are carried out for individual services such as the Iraqi Army or police, rather than for provinces as a whole.

The PSTAs are reviewed by the combined Iraqi and coalition Joint Committee to Transfer Security Responsibility, before a final decision on whether a province is ready to transfer to Iraqi security control is taken at the Iraqi Ministerial Council for National Security.

The criteria used in the assessments are: first, the capabilities of the Iraqi security forces; secondly, the threat level; thirdly, the Iraqi governance capacity, and, fourthly, the capabilities of MNF-I to re-intervene at the request of the Iraqis. To date, three Iraqi provinces have met the criteria necessary for the transfer of security: Muthanna; Dhi Qar; and Najaf.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.