Extradition Treaties

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs written question – answered on 19th July 2006.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of David Drew David Drew Labour, Stroud

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs with which countries the UK has extradition treaties; how many people were extradited (a) to each country from the UK and (b) to the UK from each country in the latest year for which figures are available.

Photo of Joan Ryan Joan Ryan Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Home Office, The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for the Home Department

I have been asked to reply.

The Extradition Act 2003 divides the UK's extradition partners into two categories. Part 1 territories are those EU member states who, like the UK, operate the European Arrest Warrant (EAW) procedure. These are:

Austria; Belgium; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Estonia; Finland; France; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Ireland; Italy; Latvia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Malta; the Netherlands; Poland; Portugal; Slovakia; Slovenia; Spain; and Sweden

Part 2 territories include those Members of the Council of Europe who are not in the EU and are party to the European Convention on Extradition; Commonwealth territories; and bilateral extradition treaty partners, such as the United States. These are:

Albania; Andorra; Antigua and Barbuda; Armenia; Argentina; Australia; Azerbaijan; The Bahamas; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belize; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Brunei; Bulgaria; Canada; Chile; Colombia; Cook Islands; Croatia; Cuba; Dominica; Ecuador; El Salvador; Fiji; The Gambia; Georgia; Ghana; Grenada; Guatemala; Guyana; Haiti; Hong Kong Special Administrative Region *; Iceland; India; Iraq; Israel; Jamaica; Kenya; Kiribati; Lesotho; Liberia; Liechtenstein; the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mauritius; Mexico; Moldova; Monaco; Nauru; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Nigeria; Norway; Panama; Papua New Guinea; Paraguay; Peru; Romania; Russian Federation; Saint Christopher and Nevis; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; San Marino; Serbia and Montenegro; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Solomon Islands; South Africa; Sri Lanka; Swaziland; Switzerland; Tanzania; Thailand; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Turkey; Tuvalu; Uganda; Ukraine; United States of America; Uruguay; Vanuatu; Western Samoa; Zambia and Zimbabwe.

In 2005, under the EAW procedure, the UK extradited 77 people to other EU member states and had 66 people returned to this country. Under part 2 of the 2003 Act, the UK extradited 62 people last year and had 11 people returned to this country.

This information is shown in the following table:

UK extradition statistics for 2005
Part 1
Country Surrendered by UK Returned to UK
Austria 0 0
Belgium 8 1
Cyprus 0 1
Czech Republic 0 0
Denmark 3 0
Estonia 0 0
Finland 2 0
France 4 7
Germany 8 6
Greece 0 4
Hungary 0 0
Ireland 11 4
Italy 0 1
Latvia 0 1
Lithuania 27 0
Luxembourg 0 0
Malta 0 0
Netherlands 3 10
Poland 4 0
Portugal 3 1
Slovakia 0 0
Slovenia 0 0
Spain 3 29
Sweden 1 1
Part 2
Country Surrendered by UK Returned to UK
Albania 1 0
Australia 2 0
Canada 2 1
Cayman Islands 0 1
Croatia 1 0
Czech 4 1
Estonia(1) 1 0
France(1) 6 0
Germany(1) 7 1
Grenada 1 0
Hungary(1) 1 0
Italy(1) 5 0
Jamaica 0 2
Lithuania(1) 3 0
Monaco 1 0
Norway 1 1
Poland(1) 1 0
Portugal(1) 1 0
Romania 2 0
Serbia & Montenegro 0 1
Slovakia(1) 2 0
South Africa 1 0
Spain(1) 3 2
Switzerland 1 0
Turkey 1 0
USA 14 1
(1 )Indicates an EU member state where all or some of the extradition requests were made/received before the date the State began operating the Framework Decision on the European Arrest Warrant.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes30 people think so

No4 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.