Home Department written question – answered on 6th July 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Greg Hands Greg Hands Conservative, Hammersmith and Fulham

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department how many areas have been designated under section 30 of the Anti-social Behaviour Act 2003 in (a) each London borough, (b) England and (c) England and Wales in the past 12months.

Photo of Hazel Blears Hazel Blears Minister of State (Home Office) (Policing, Security and Community Safety), Member, Labour Party National Executive Committee

It is estimated that dispersal powers have been authorised in over 400 areas in England and Wales between January 2004, when the powers came into force and September 2004. The Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police tells me that, between January and December 2004, the Metropolitan Police authorised 63 dispersal areas under section 30 of the Anti-social Behaviour Act 2003. A breakdown by London borough is shown in the following table.

London boroughs: Dispersal areas—January to December 2005
Barnet 1
Brent 2
Bromley 6
Camden 2
Croydon 4
Dagenham 2
Ealing 5
Enfield 4
Greenwich 1
Hackney 1
Hammersmith and Fulham 3
Haringey 1
Hillingdon 5
Hounslow 3
Islington 4
Lambeth 2
Lewisham 1
Merton 2
Newham 1
Redbridge 2
Richmond 3
Romford 1
Tower Hamlets 2
Waltham Forest 1
Wandsworth 1
Westminster 3
Total 63

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.