British Embassies

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs written question – answered on 30th June 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Jim McGovern Jim McGovern Labour, Dundee West

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs how many British embassies have been closed since 1997.

Photo of Jack Straw Jack Straw Foreign Secretary

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office has closed five embassies and high commissions since 1997. These were in Bamako, Managua, San Salvador, Tegucigalpa and Asuncion. A further post, Nassau, is scheduled to close on 30 June 2005.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.