Nuclear Power Stations

House of Lords written question – answered on 24th February 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Baroness Miller of Hendon Baroness Miller of Hendon Spokespersons In the Lords, Economic Affairs

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether the statement by the Lord Sainsbury of Turville on 26 January that "the major closedown of nuclear power stations begins in 2020" (Official Report, col. 1259) is consistent with the existing programme of nuclear power station closures that will result in only three nuclear power stations remaining open by 2020.

Photo of Lord Sainsbury of Turville Lord Sainsbury of Turville Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Science and Innovation), Department of Trade and Industry, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Trade and Industry) (Science and Innovation)

I regret that my statement the noble Baroness refers to was misleading. The current estimated closure dates of the existing nuclear power stations are given in the table below. However, on current plans, around 30 per cent. of installed nuclear capacity will be operating after 2020 and these dates do not take account of further possible lifetime extensions for British Energy's AGR and PWR plants. Any decisions to seek extensions would be a matter for the company which would need to evaluate the safety, technical and economic cases, within the overall regulatory framework.

Nuclear Power Station Estimated closure date Type of reactor Installed capacity MW
Dungeness A 2006 Magnox 450
Sizewell A 2006 Magnox 420
Oldbury 2008 Magnox 434
Dungeness B 2008 AGR 1,110
Wylfa 2010 Magnox 980
Hinkley Point B 2011 AGR 1,220
Hunterston B 2011 AGR 1,190
Hartlepool 2014 AGR 1,210
Heysham 1 2014 AGR 1,150
Heysham 2 2023 AGR 1,250
Torness 2023 AGR 1,250
Sizewell B 2035 PWR 1,188
4 Magnox

7 AGRs


1852 MW

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.