EU Committees

Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs written question – answered on 24th February 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Angus Robertson Angus Robertson Shadow SNP Spokesperson (Defence), Shadow SNP Spokesperson (Foreign and Commonwealth Office)

To ask the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs how many times during the (a) Italian, (b) Irish and (c) Dutch presidency of the EU the (i) EEC-Russia Co-operation Committee, (ii) EC-Georgia Co-operation Committee and (iii) EC-San Marino Co-operation Committee met; when and where each meeting took place; what UK Government expert was present at each meeting; and if he will make a statement.

Photo of Denis MacShane Denis MacShane Minister of State (Europe), Foreign & Commonwealth Office

During this period, there was one meeting of the EU-Georgia Co-operation Committee—on 16 July 2004 in Brussels. There were two meetings of the EU-Russia Co-operation Committee—on 20 October 2003 in Moscow and on 21 October 2004 in Brussels. There was one meeting of the EU-San Marino Co-operation Committee—on 12 July 2004 in Brussels. As Co-operation Committees are chaired by the Commission, with support from the presidency, there were no UK representatives at these meetings. However, the UK participated fully in formulating the EU's position for the meetings.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.