Asylum Seekers

Home Department written question – answered on 24th February 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Mark Oaten Mark Oaten Shadow Secretary of State for Home Affairs, Home Affairs

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department to which (a) countries and (b) regions affected by the tsunami removal of failed asylum seekers has been suspended; for how long suspensions will last in each case; and if he will make a statement.

Photo of Des Browne Des Browne Minister of State (Citizenship, Immigration and Counter-Terrorism), Home Office, Minister of State (Home Office) (Citizenship, Immigration and Nationality)

The UK is currently not enforcing the removal of failed asylum applicants to the following countries, or parts of countries:

Sri Lanka—coastal areas of the north, east, south and south west;

Indonesia—the province of Aceh on the island of Sumatra;

The Maldives—affected islands;

India—coastal areas of Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Pondicherry, Andhra Pradesh and the

Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

This approach is in line with the UNHCR's recommendations for south-east Asia of 12 January 2005. Proposals to conduct removals to non-affected areas immediately outside of those identified above, are being reviewed sensitively and on a case by case basis. The Government do not attach a time scale to their policy to temporarily suspend enforced returns on the basis that this is being monitored and kept under active review in light of the ongoing assessment and development of the country conditions.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.