Identity Cards

Home Department written question – answered on 26th January 2005.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Mr Denzil Davies Mr Denzil Davies Labour, Llanelli

To ask the Secretary of State for the Home Department which EU member states require their citizens to possess identity cards.

Photo of Des Browne Des Browne Minister of State (Citizenship, Immigration and Counter-Terrorism), Home Office, Minister of State (Home Office) (Citizenship, Immigration and Nationality)

holding answer 24 January 2004

Of the 25 EU member states, 21 have identity cards; 12 have a compulsory system and nine have a voluntary system. The 12 countries which have a compulsory system are: Belgium, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, and Spain.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.