Defra: Agencies and Bodies

House of Lords written question – answered on 12th February 2004.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Baroness Byford Baroness Byford Conservative

asked Her Majesty's Government:

How many quangos and agencies reported to the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs in each of the years 2000 to 2003; what they were called; and how many staff were employed by each.

Photo of Lord Whitty Lord Whitty Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs) (Food, Farming and Sustainable Energy)

The Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs was created in June 2001; the information given relates to the period since then.

Defra currently has responsibility for 18 executive non-departmental public bodies, 32 advisory bodies, four tribunals and two public corporations. These numbers have not changed significantly since the department was created. The lists below show all the non-departmental public bodies that have reported to Defra since June 2001. They include the number of staff employed in the public corporations and executive NDPBs; the advisory and tribunal NDPBs do not employ their own staff.

2001 2002 2003
Public Corporations
British Waterways Board 1,929 1,929 2,063
Covent Garden Market Authority 39 39 40
Executive NDPBs
Agricultural Wages Board for England and Wales 1.8 1.8 2
Agricultural Wages Committees for England and Wales 1.6 1.6 1.6
Apple and Pear Research Council(1) 0.5 1
British Potato Council 62 63 63
Countryside Agency 509.15 631.5 625.4
English Nature 783.5 825 1,030
Environment Agency 10,476 10,595 10,595
Food from Britain 26 26 26
Home-Grown Cereals Authority 43.5 47.3 50
Horticultural Development Council 15 13.5 12
Horticulture Research International 567 502.5 484
Joint Nature Conservation Committee 82 100 101
Meat and Livestock Commission 678 666 666
Milk Development Council 9 14 14
National Forest Company 15.5 17 17
Regional Flood Defence Committees 0 0 0
Royal Botanic Gardens Kew 551 601 601
Sea Fish Industry Authority 147 145 145
United Kingdom Register of Organic Food Standards(2) 7 7 7
Wine Standards Board 10.5 10.5 10.5

Advisory NDPBs

Advisory Committee on Business and the Environment

Advisory Committee on Consumer Products and the Environment

Advisory Committee on Hazardous Substances

Advisory Committee on Organic Standards(1)

Advisory Committee on Packaging(2)

Advisory Committee on Pesticides

Advisory Committee on Releases to the Environment

Agricultural Dwelling House Advisory Committees

Airborne Particles Expert Group(3)

Air Quality Expert Group(4)

Committee of Investigation for Great Britain

Committee on Agricultural Valuation

Committee on Products and Processes for Use in Public Water Supply

Consumers' Committee for Great Britain

Darwin Advisory Committee

Expert Group on Cryptosporidium in Water Supplies

Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards

Farm Animal Welfare Council

Government-Industry Forum on Non-food Uses of Crops

Hill Farming Advisory Committee

Independent Scientific Group on Cattle TB

Inland Waterways Amenity Advisory Council

Integrated Administration and Control System Appeals Panel(5)

National Expert Group on Transboundary Air Pollution(6)

Pesticide Residues Committee

Radioactive Waste Management Advisory Committee

Royal Commission on Environment Pollution

Science Advisory Council(7)

Spongiform Encephalopathy Advisory Committee

Sustainable Development Commission

Sustainable Development Education Panel(10)

Veterinary Products Committee

Veterinary Residues Committee

Water Regulations Advisory Committee

Zoos Forum

Tribunal NDPBs

Agricultural Land Tribunal

Commons Commissioners

Dairy Produce Quota Tribunal

Plant Varieties and Seeds Tribunal

(8) Wound up 31 March 2003

(9) Wound up 18 July 2003

(10) Established 1 November 2003

(11) Old committee was wound up on 31 December 2001, and a new committee of the same name established on 10 September 2002

(12) Wound up early 2002

(13) Established 1 July 2002

(14) Established 1 April 2002

(15) Wound up 31 August 2001

(16) Established 5 January 2004

(10) Wound up February 2003

Defra inherited six executive agencies at the time of its creation, all from the former MAFF. These agencies were:

Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science (CEFAS)

Central Science Laboratory (CSL)

Pesticides Safety Directorate (PSD)

Veterinary Laboratories Agency (VLA)

Veterinary Medicines Directorate (VMD), and

Intervention Board Executive Agency (IBEA)

The Rural Payments Agency (RPA) was created on 16 October 2001, and took over the functions and staff of the IBEA on 15 November 2001.

The number of permanent staff in each agency for each year since the creation of Defra is set out on the table below:

Agency 1 Oct 2001 1 Apr 2002 1 Apr 2003
CEFAS 480 500 530
CSL 580 610 650
PSD 190 180 170
RPA 2,940 2,870
VLA 1,160 1,230 1,290
VMD 110 120 120
IBEA 1,080

Does this answer the above question?

Yes1 person thinks so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.