Advantage West Midlands

Deputy Prime Minister written question – answered on 7th November 2002.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Mr John Taylor Mr John Taylor Conservative, Solihull

To ask the Deputy Prime Minister, if she will list the members of Advantage West Midlands; from what areas they are drawn; what their function is; how they were chosen; how they can be dismissed; what they will cost in 2002–03; and from what vote they are paid.

Photo of Alan Johnson Alan Johnson Minister of State (Employment Relations, Industry & the Regions)

I have been asked to reply.

The Board members of Advantage West Midlands are;

Chairman Alex Stephenson, Deputy Chair Cllr Sue Davies, Richard Barnes,

Prof Kumar Bhattacharyya, Cllr Sir Albert Bore, Dr. Anthony Harris,

Dr. Christine King, Brian Woods-Scawen, Cllr David Sparkes,

Sukhvinder Kaur Stubbs, Norman Price, Isabella Moore,

Cllr Paul Tilsley, Tony Sealey, Bill Holmes.

Board Members are drawn from Business, Local Authorities, Higher Education, the Voluntary Sector, Employees Representation Groups and Rural Interests.

The function of Board Members is;

To direct and hold the executive team accountable for results

To reflect regional interests

To oversee and approve the production and review of the Regional Economic Strategy and corporate plan for presentation to Ministers

To chair and facilitate meetings

To represent Advantage West Midlands externally.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.