Only a few days to go: We’re raising £25,000 to keep TheyWorkForYou running and make sure people across the UK can hold their elected representatives to account.

Donate to our crowdfunder

International Social Security Agreements

Work and Pensions written question – answered on 16th May 2002.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Andrew Turner Andrew Turner Conservative, Isle of Wight

To ask the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions when each international reciprocal social security agreement was entered into; and what the extent of the reciprocity is in each case.

Photo of Maria Eagle Maria Eagle The Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Work and Pensions

The information on reciprocal social security agreements with other countries is as follows.

The main purpose of such reciprocal agreements is to protect the social security position of workers moving between the two countries during their working lives. They prevent employees, their employers and the self-employed from having to pay social security contributions to both the home state and the state of employment at the same time and ensure that such workers' rights to certain benefits are maintained. They vary to some extent from country to country depending on the nature and scope of the other country's social security scheme. Generally, they cover contributory benefits in respect of the following contingencies: sickness, invalidity, unemployment, retirement, bereavement and industrial injuries. Workers who have contributed to both countries' schemes during their working lives can usually receive an old age pension from each country which reflects the proportionate amount or their insurance in, or contributions to, each country's scheme.

List of current reciprocal social security agreements and the year they came into force


Barbados—1981 (replaced the 1971 agreement)




Cyprus—1995 (replaced the 1959 agreement)

Denmark—1983 (replaced the 1959 agreement)


France—1984 (replaced the 1959 agreement)





Isle of Man—1960

Israel—1977 (replaced the 1948 agreement)



Jersey and Guernsey—1997 (replaced the 1972 agreement)

Luxembourg—1994 (replaced the 1978 agreement)


Mauritius—1966 (replaced the 1956 agreement)


New Zealand—1955

Norway—1983 (replaced the 1969 agreement)

Philippines—1991 (replaced the 1957 agreement)




Switzerland—1988 (replaced the 1956 agreement)



Yugoslavia 1 —1984 (replaced the 1969 agreement)

1 Now applies to: the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia- Montenegro—1958), Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Slovenia and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.