Nursing and Midwifery and Health Professions Councils: Appointments

House of Lords written question – answered on 27th March 2002.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Baroness Billingham Baroness Billingham Labour

asked Her Majesty's Government:

If appointments have been made to the Nursing and Midwifery and Health Professions Councils in readiness for their formal establishment on 1 April.

Photo of Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Parliamentary Under-Secretary, Department of Health, Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department of Health)

The Nursing and Midwifery and Health Professions Orders 2001 provide for the Privy Council to make appointments to the new councils. I can confirm that members have accepted the invitations to serve for a three-year term from 1 April 2002. A list of their names is shown in the table. Nursing and Midwifery Councils President Jonathan Asbridge—England Practitioner members Nurses Jonathan Asbridge—England Sharon Hall—Wales Kathleen McLean—Scotland Mary Hanratty—Northern Ireland Midwives Catherine Warwick—England Jean Keats—Wales Heather Shaw—Scotland Elizabeth Bannon—Northern Ireland Health Visitors Bronya Webster—England Marianne Cowpe—Wales Ishbel White—Scotland Fiona Wright—Northern Ireland Alternate members Nurses Professor David Sines—England Elizabeth Hewett—Wales Nancy Kirkland—Scotland Angela O'Connor—Northern Ireland Midwives Professor Paul Lewis—England Christine Hayes—Wales Mary Vance—Scotland Eileen Pollock—Northern Ireland Health Visitors Heather Livesey—England Angela Roberts—Wales Sheena Wright—Scotland Maureen Jamison—Northern Ireland Lay (Others) Education Professor Gordon Dickson—Scotland Professor Donald Pennington—England NHS Employers Catherine Gritzner—England Non-NHS Employers Trevor Purt—England Lay (users) Jill Carter—England Christina Funnell—England William Buxton—England Moi Ali—Scotland Alan Ferguson OBE—Northern Ireland John Leece Jones—Wales Health Professions Council President Prof Norma Brook—England Practitioner members Professor Diane Waller (Arts Therapists)—England Pamela Sabine (Chiropodists)—England Dr John Old (Clinical Scientists)—England Morag MacKellar (Dietitians)—Scotland Neil Willis (Medical Laboratory Technicians)—Wales Mary Crawford (Occupational Therapists)—England Clare McGartland (Orthoptists)—Northern Ireland Joanna Manning (Paramedics)—England Dr Robert Jones (Physiotherapists)—England William Munro (Prosthetists & Orthotists)—Scotland Dr Alexander Yule (Radiographers)—Wales Dr Anna Van Der Gaag (Speech & Language Therapists)—Scotland Alternate members Michael Barham (Arts Therapists)—England Paul Frowen (Chiropodists)—Wales Dr Graham Beastall (Clinical Scientists)—Scotland Gillian Pearson (Dietitians)—England Gordon Sutehall (Medical Laboratory Technicians)—England Carol Lloyd (Occupational Therapists)—England Helen Davis (Orthoptists)—England Michael Collins (Paramedics)—Wales Eileen Thornton (Physiotherapists)—England Laurence Hughes (Prosthetists & Orthotists)—Northern Ireland Rosemary Klem (Radiographers)—England Jacqueline Pearce (Speech & Language Therapists)—England Lay Members Education Prof Anthony Hazell—Wales Prof John Harper—Scotland NHS employers Robert Clegg—England Non-NHS employers Shaheen Chaudhry—England Lay (users) Jacqueline Stark—England Prof John Lilleyman—England Anne Foster—England Keith Ross—Scotland Christine Farrell—England Barbara Stuart—Northern Ireland Colin Lea—Wales Prof Jeffrey Lucas—England

Does this answer the above question?

Yes0 people think so

No0 people think not

Would you like to ask a question like this yourself? Use our Freedom of Information site.