Meeting of the Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee

Cabinet Office written statement – made on 11th September 2020.

Alert me about debates like this

Photo of Michael Gove Michael Gove Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster

The Withdrawal Agreement Joint Committee met on 10 September at Lancaster House, London. The meeting was chaired by the Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Michael Gove, and the European Commission Vice President, Maroš Šefcovic, alongside the alternate co-chairs of the Committee, the Paymaster General, Penny Mordaunt, and Michel Barnier. Representatives from the Northern Ireland Executive and the EU 27 Member States also joined by videolink.

The Committee discussed the UK Internal Market Bill and the Northern Ireland Protocol. The UK made clear that the legislative timetable for the Bill would continue as planned and reiterated its commitment to implementing the Withdrawal Agreement, including the Northern Ireland Protocol, and the Decisions of the Joint Committee.

The UK Government also stressed its obligations to the people of Northern Ireland, its determination to uphold the constitutional status of Northern Ireland, and its responsibility to provide good governance for the whole United Kingdom. As co-guarantor, along with Ireland, of the Belfast (Good Friday) Agreement, the Government’s commitment to that agreement remains absolute.

The UK Government will continue to engage in Joint Committee discussions constructively, with the aim of finding a satisfactory outcome for both sides.